with “Four Guitars” performing Rodrigo’s Concierto Andaluz

The El Paso Symphony Orchestra (EPSO) is celebrating 89 years and still going strong.  It has the honor of being the oldest continuously running Symphony in Texas.  On September 20 & 21, 2019, Music Director Bohuslav Rattay, entering his seventh season with EPSO, and the El Paso Symphony Orchestra joined by the Universita Guitar Quartet take the stage at the Plaza Theatre, 7:30pm, to start a new season that promises to entertain, enrich and engage our community.

The Universita Guitar Quartet join the El Paso Symphony Orchestra led by Bohuslav Rattay to perform an El Paso audience favorite, Rodrigo’s Concierto AndaluzI for four guitars. The Concierto Andaluz was written by Spanish composer Joaquin Rodrigo for the The Romeros, also known as The Royal Family of Guitar.  The influence of the folk music of Spain and its rhythms resonate throughout the piece.

The program will open with the Overture of Handel’s Royal Fireworks.  During Handel's time in England (as almost everywhere), fireworks were a favorite way to celebrate major occasions. Handel's Royal Fireworks was written to celebrate the signing of a peace treaty -- the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle. The opening classical concerts of EPSO’s 89th Anniversary Season will end with Brahms’ first symphonic masterpiece, his Symphony No. 1.

ABOUT THE SOLOISTS: The Universita Guitar Quartet started in 2016 as a collaborative project between the guitar area faculty members of the University of Texas at El Paso, the Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez and the Universidad Autonoma de Chihuahua. Its members are Hiram Rodriguez (UTEP-UACJ), Martin Espinoza (UACH), Jesus Manuel Flores (UACH) and Daniel Monroy (UACJ). Each one of them has been developing academic activities in their own universities as well as participating in guitar festivals as performers and adjudicators for guitar competitions in Mexico, Europe and Latin America. The ensemble has performed at guitar festivals and competitions at the Juarez and Chihuahua universities in 2016, 2017 and 2018.  The quartet performs works by several Mexican composers.  Currently Joaquin Rodrigo’s “Concierto Andaluz” is the new project the UGQ has embarked on and has been invited to perform with symphony orchestras in Mexico, including the Orquesta Sinfonica de la UACH.

The September 20 & 21 EPSO concerts are generously sponsored by the Marlene and J.O. Stewart, Jr. Foundation.

 Concert ticket prices are $46, $41, $35, $22 and $16 plus fees.  Student tickets for $9 and $12 plus fees are available.  Tickets may be purchase at epso.org, ticketmaster.com or by calling the EPSO office at (915) 532-3776.

ARTFUL PRELUDES: Universita Guitar Quartet will join EPSO Music Director Bohulav Rattay at the El Paso Museum of Art for a discussion and sampling of the El Paso Symphony September concerts on Thursday, September 19, 12pm.  Artful Preludes is presented in collaboration with the El Paso Museum of Art is free and open to the public.  Attendees are welcomed to tour the museum prior to or after the program.

LEARN MORE:  Join EPSO prior to each performance at Opening Notes, 6:30pm in the Philanthropy Theatre, to get insights on the program, composers and artist.

SEASON TICKETS:  Season tickets are available through the El Paso Symphony Orchestra (915) 532-3776.  Season ticket prices (6 classical concerts): $228, $195, $168, $96, $66 plus fees. Discounts for the season tickets are: 20% seniors and active military, 30% educators, 50% students

The El Paso Symphony Orchestra is supported in part by the City of El Paso Museums and Cultural Affairs Department, the Texas Commission on the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.


Artful Preludes: Thursday, September 19, 12pm, El Paso Museum of Art (Free)
Opening Notes:
Friday, September 20 & Saturday, September 21, 2019, 6:30pm Philanthropy Theatre (Free)
“Four Guitars”
Friday, September 20 & Saturday, 21, 2019, 7:30pm Plaza Theatre
El Paso Symphony Orchestra
Bohuslav Rattay, Conductor
Universita Guitar Quartet: Hiram Rodriguez, Martin Espinoza, Jesus Manuel Flores, Daniel Monroy
Handel Royal Fireworks, Overture
Rodrigo Concierto Andaluz
Brahms Symphony No. 1, op. 68 in C minor

Tickets: $46, $41, $35, $22, $16 and $9 and $12 for students plus applicable fees. Tickets may be purchase at epso.org, ticketmaster.com or by calling the EPSO office at (915) 532-3776.

Classical Series Opens with Four Guitars

You May Also Like

2 thoughts on “Classical Series Opens with Four Guitars

  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Kudos

Comments are closed.